The National Communications Authority (NCA) is the regulatory body for the communications sector in Somalia. NCA was established through the Communications Act of 2017 and its mandate is to regulate the Communications sector including telecommunications, Internet, broadcasting, Information, and Communications Technology, eCommerce services. NCA has established the Unified Licensing Framework by which is a competitive framework that promotes Technology innovations and provides a more conducive environment for market growth and improvement of the socio-economic welfare of the society.

Under the Licensing Framework, All the following service providers need a license to operate in the Federal Republic of Somalia:

  • Communications Infrastructure,
  • Application and Service providers,
  • Internet Service Providers (ISPs),
  • Terminal equipment,
  • DotSo registrars and
  • VSAT services

The number of licenses issued and their description can be accessed on this link:  and the complete License framework can be found here:

NCA urges all unlicensed operators in the Information and Communications Sector to apply for Licenses, not later than 31st August 2021.


Click here to download the official public notice.